Your Guide to Alimony in Georgia

Alimony is maintained to protect economic fairness in the event of divorce. Here’s what you need to know about alimony in the state of Georgia.

Alimony, or spousal support, was a concept originally implemented when employment options for women were more limited. After a divorce, men were responsible for their ex-wives support. Now, alimony in Georgia and other states is maintained to protect economic fairness in the event of divorce. Understanding how alimony in Georgia is awarded and what types are available is important when discussing divorce proceedings.

Types of Alimony in Georgia

There are two primary types of alimony in Georgia: temporary alimony and permanent alimony.

  1. Temporary alimony is the most common form of alimony in Georgia. It is generally awarded for a specific period of time or in a specific amount as a rehabilitative measure in order to allow the receiving spouse time to obtain an income of their own – either within a previous job field or through education and training to reenter the job market.
  2. Permanent alimony remains in effect until the death of either spouse, the recipient’s remarriage, or the recipient enters into a new live-in committed relationship. Permanent alimony is generally reserved for those of advanced years or those who are unable to enter the job market due to disability or inability to ever obtain meaningful employment.

Awarding Alimony

To be eligible for alimony in Georgia, the court must first find that one spouse is in need of financial support. There is no law outlining what calculations should be made to determine alimony payments, but the courts consider several factors including :

  • The length of the marriage.
  • The earning capacities of each spouse.
  • Separate financial resources and debts.
  • Contributions to the marriage (i.e. homemaking and childcare, education or career building).
  • The standard of living during the marriage.
  • The individual spouse’s ages.
  • Physical and emotional conditions of each spouse.
  • The amount of time needed to educate one or both spouses to increase job prospect and hireability.

Changes to Alimony in Georgia

Alimony can be modifiable or non-modifiable. If the spouses agree, the alimony can be non-modifiable which means it cannot be changed. Otherwise, once alimony has been awarded, the court has the right to make adjustments or terminate alimony payments. To do so, there must be proof of a “significant change in circumstances”. In most cases, this means the person receiving alimony payments has become employed and their income increased to a point where the Court believes less or no alimony is warranted. If the alimony payer has been fired or laid off, this can also prompt adjustments to alimony in Georgia.

Understanding the rules governing alimony in Georgia can allow you to better decide if alimony is applicable in your situation, and if so, to discuss the appropriate amount with your attorney. Always consult a lawyer when moving forward with alimony proceedings as it’s important to have a professional on your side throughout the process.

Getting divorced in Georgia? The attorneys of Spooner & Associates, P.C. have years of experience dealing with family law issues, including alimony. Contact us to set up an initial consultation and to learn how we can help negotiate your alimony situation.

Share This Article

Other Blog That May Interest You

wooden blocks representing family
Family Law

Step-Parent Adoption

While adoptions are an exciting time for families, it may also feel overwhelming..

Read More >
woman holding iphone

Before You Hit Send…

Technology has afforded us with new ways to communicate. Text messages, email, video.

Read More >
tax law file

How the New Federal Tax Law Could Impact Your Divorce

If you are considering a divorce, it is important to understand the consequences.

Read More >

The law offices of Spooner and Associates, P.C. provides quality family law and personal injury representation for residents of all North Metro Atlanta Counties (including Gwinnett County, Barrow County, Forsyth County, Jackson County, Walton County, Hall County, Forsyth County, and North Fulton County), which includes the cities of Suwanee, Lawrenceville, Duluth, Alpharetta, Atlanta, Sugar Hill, Buford, John’s Creek, Milton, Cumming, Gainesville, Oakwood, Snellville, Winder, Monroe, Dacula (including Hamilton Mill), Auburn, Braselton, Hoschton, and Jefferson.